Ripen

Image by- Pranav Singh Baghel

Tell me now,

And tell me true,

Is growing, above

Me and you?

The long promises,

The wrong texts,

The sparks,

They’re all dead?

Waiting to be a teenager,

Crossing anger issues,

Imbalanced hormones ,

And overused tissues,

Coming from crying with people,

To crying alone,

The distance apart,

Grew more and more;

Here the letter says, 

“Don’t let me grow, oh! Stop the flow, my mind deluded,

My heart slow;

Sedulous it may seem

My gifted life,

Still broken as it is,

Still pricked with a knife,

Oh! ma, help me now,

Don’t let me grow, stop.”

The cries of pain,

The emotional vain,

A song comes up, singing at night,

Painting blue to something so white,

“Daddy, your princess turned into a lady, fighting her battles, avoiding the shady;

Friendships and break ups,

Heart breaks and make ups,

You didn’t teach me this,

Oh! daddy, you resisted much,

Oh! daddy, your princess is tough, 

Oh! daddy she turned into a warrior,

Keep this letter as my souvenir.”

Defeating anxiety and depression and the almighty

For how you longed,

Her sleepless nights,

Now she’s asleep forever,

A sinner in your eyes,

A failure by choice,

In her over achieved domain,

And her box full of cocaine,

The dried ink,

And the torn diaries,

The world failed her,

Yet she tranquiled her miseries.

Leave a Reply

